Social Media Awards Beirut Announces Finalists, Public Voting Begins

Read In

Yesterday, the Social Media Awards Beirut announced their competition finalists at an event at the Phoenicia Hotel in downtown Beirut. Finalists were nominated by the public and narrowed down by the panel of expert judges.

This is the first edition of the Social Media Awards Beirut, which allows the Lebanese online community to nominate, vote for and award bloggers, journalists, content creators, community managers, celebrities, and social media users, for their efforts in communication and online creation.

Judges include the Lebanese Minister of Telecoms Nicolas Sehnaoui, the British Ambassador to Lebanon Tom Fletcher, and other notable business owners, academics, and bloggers from Lebanon. The competition is organized by The Online Collaborative, an NGO out of the American University of Beirut focused on promoting “proper digital citizenship” by encouraging internet users to make the most of social media for their businesses and projects.

“I want to encourage any Lebanese creator, entrepreneur, inventor, or investor to invest in the Lebanese digital economy,” said Telecoms Minister Sehnaoui. “We are able to do much more as Lebanese and we will do much more in years to come.”  

AUB Professor Leila Khauli Hanna, one of the judges, congratulated the online community in Lebanon, adding, “We in this region have a competitive advantage in that we not only understand a political voice online, but a business application as well.”

Some of the more interesting finalists to note are the most active politicians, favorite Lebanese bands, most popular celebrities online, and food and beverage companies.

The competition is now open for public voting, where voters can choose one finalist from each of the 32 categories which include Blog of the Year, Best Band on Social Media, Most Engaging Person on Twitter, and Best Startup on Social Media, among others.

Check out the full list of finalists below and vote on the SMA website for the best in each category. Voting ends on April 25th, 2013 followed by an awards ceremony on April 29th. Finalists are listed in descending order starting with those who were awarded the most points by the judges:

Finalists for Blog of the Year

Finalists for Best News Blog

Finalists for Best Business Blog

Finalists for Best Lifestyle Blog

Finalists for Best Food Blog

Finalists for Best Fashion Blog

Finalists for Best Technology Blog

Finalists for Best Personal Blog

Finalists for Best Media Personality on Social Media

  • Paula Yacoubian | @PaulaYacoubian
  • Zaven Kouyoumdjian | @Zaven_K
  • Ayman Itani | @aymanitani
  • Marcel Ghanem | @Marcel_Ghanem
  • Amer Tabsh | @arzleb
  • Mona Salibi | @monasalibi
  • Tony Khalifeh | @TonyKhalifeh

Finalists for Best Non-Arabic Vocal Artist on Social Media

  • Poly | @followpoly
  • Anthony Touma | @ToumaMusic
  • Tania Kassis | @Tania_Kassis
  • Hiba Kadri | @HibaKadri

Finalists for Best Band on Social Media

  • Slutterhouse | @slutterhouse
  • Meen The Band | @meentheband
  • Jay Wud | @JAYWUD
  • مشروع ليلى Mashrou' Leila | @mashrou3leila
  • Episode | @episodeband
  • Scrambled Eggs |
  • Adonis | @adonisband

Finalists for Most Creative Instagram Account

  • David Habchy | @davidhabchy
  • Live Love Beirut | @livelovebeirut
  • Michel Richa | @mishoricha
  • No Garlic No Onions | @nogarlicnoonions
  • Chi7as | @chi7as
  • Gino Raidy | @ginoraidy
  • Saad Naamani | @saadnaamani

Finalists for Best Facebook Campaign/Page

Finalists for Best Integrated Campaign

Finalists for Most Engaging Youtube Channel

Finalists for Most Engaging Youtube Video

Finalists for Most Engaging Person on Twitter (Tweep)

  • Anis Tabet | @AnisTabet13
  • Angie Nassar | @angienassar
  • Michel Richa | @mishoricha
  • George Khabbaz | @LeSoupi
  • Imad Bazzi | @trellalb
  • Rani the First | @ranithefirst
  • Vincent Gebran | @vince_gebran

Finalists for Most Engaging Celebrity on Twitter

  • Haifa Wehbe | @haifawehbe
  • Pierrette Katrib | @pierettekatrib
  • Ragheb Alama | @raghebalama
  • Nancy Ajram | @nancyajram
  • Elissa | @elissakh
  • Nawal El Zoghbi | @nawalelzoghbi
  • Yara | @yara_lb

Finalists for Most Engaging Media Personality on Twitter

  • Paula Yacoubian | @paulayacoubian
  • Angie Nassar | @angienassar
  • Zaven | @zaven_K
  • Mona Salibi | @monasalibi
  • Neshan | @neshantv
  • Pierre Rabbat | @pierrerabbat
  • Marcel Ghanem | @marcel_ghanem

Finalists for Most Engaging Politician/Diplomat on Twitter

  • Ziyad Baroud | @ziyadbaroud
  • Saad Hariri | @haririsaad
  • Michel Sleiman | @sleimanmichel
  • Najib Mikati | @najib_mikati
  • Samy Gemayel | @samygemayel
  • Gebran Bassil | @gebran_bassil
  • Charbel Nahas | @charbelnahas

Finalists for Best Business on Twitter

  • Phoenicia | @PhoeniciaBeirut
  • Roadster Diner | @roadsterdiner
  • Le Gustav | @Legustav
  • Zaatar w Zeit | @zaatarwzeit
  • Brioche Doree | @briochedoreeLB
  • Crepaway | @crepaway
  • February 30 Pub | @Feb30Hamra

Finalists for Best NGO/Organization on Twitter

  • Donner Sang Compter | @DSCLebanon
  • FERN | @FERN_org
  • TEDxBeirut | @TEDxBeirut
  • YASA | @yasalebanon
  • One Wig Stand | @OneWigStand
  • Food Blessed | @foodblessed
  • Sesobel | @Sesobel

Finalists for Best Pub/Bar on Social Media

  • February 30 Hamra | @Feb30Hamra
  • White | @whitebeirut
  • Dany's Hamra | @Danyshamra
  • Big Shot | @bigshothamra
  • Main Street Hamra | @mainsthamra

Finalists for Best Restaurant, Café or Bakery on Social Media

  • Roadster Diner | @roadsterdiner
  • Le Gustav | @legustav
  • Crepaway | @crepaway
  • Zaatar w Zeit | @zaatarwzeit
  • Brioche Doree | @briochedoreeLB
  • St. Elmo's Seaside Brasserie | @stelmosbeirut
  • Dalilicious Bakery | @daliliciousLB

Finalists for Best Hotel on Social Media

  • Phoenicia | @phoeniciabeirut
  • Four Seasons Beirut | @FSBeirut
  • Mir Amin Palace | @MirAminPalace
  • Riviera Hotel & Beach Lounge Beirut | @RivieraBeirut
  • Coral Suites Hamra |
  • Four Points Verdun | @FPSleverdun 

Finalists for Best Fashion Brand on Social Media

  • Mukhi Sisters | @mukhisisters
  • L'ATELIER BLANC - Bridal Boutique | @latelierblanc
  • VERO MODA | @veromodame
  • Marka VIP | @markaVIP
  • Maria Pino |

Finalists for Best Food & Beverage Brand on Social Media

Finalists for Best Commercial District on Social Media

  • ABC | @ABC_Lebanon
  • City Mall | @CITYMALL_Leb
  • Le Mall | @LeMall_Lb
  • Beirut Souks | @Beirutsouks
  • Zaitunay Bay | @zaitunaybay
  • BeitMisk |
  • Saida Mall | @Saidamall

Finalists for Best NGO/Community on Social Media

Finalists for Best Start-up on Social Media

Finalists for Best Design for a Social Media Campaign

Finalists for Best Facebook Application

Read In


Related Articles